Small Cities and Counties

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009 provides the State of Arkansas with $6.2 million in funding for the Energy Efficiency Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) Program to provide grants to small cities and counties for energy efficiency and renewable energy projects.  The Arkansas EECBG program assists local governments in implementing strategies to reduce fossil fuel emissions, reduce total  energy use, improve energy efficiency and deploy market-ready renewable energy technologies.

Forty-one Arkansas cities and countes were selected through a competitive award process to receive funding for energy efficiency and renewable energy projects.  More than 80 percent of the funds will be used for building retrofit projects, including energy efficient heating and cooling equipment, efficient lighting and insulation.  Other awarded projects include renewable energy projects such as the installation of solar hot water, geothermal and wind turbines.   

The Arkansas Energy Office has partnered with Winrock International, an Arkansas-based nonprofit organization, to administer this program. 

Click here to see a summary of the applicant cities and counties and a list of the awardees and the projects they will use the grants to complete.

For More Information:
Program details can be found on the Winrock EECBG Website.  For questions, contact Johnnie Frueauff at or by calling toll-free to 1-877-99-EECBG (1-877-993-3224). 

View Arkansas - EECBG Small Cities and Counties in a larger map