$6.2 million in Energy grants awarded to 41 Arkansas cities and counties

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Forty-one Arkansas cities and counties will receive a combined $6.2 million dollars in grants to implement energy efficiency and renewable energy projects through the U.S. Department of Energy’s Energy Efficiency Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) program. The Arkansas Energy Office (AEO), a division of the Arkansas Economic Development Commission, will distribute the funds, which are provided through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.


“Our communities often see their resources stretched thin while trying to provide essential services to their citizens,” Governor Mike Beebe said.  “These grants will help our local governments operate at lower costs through energy efficiency, a benefit that will continue long after these funds are spent.”


More than 80 percent of the funds are being used for building retrofits projects, including energy efficient heating and cooling equipment, efficient lighting, and insulation. Other awarded projects include renewable energy projects such as the installation of solar hot water, geothermal and wind turbines.

Each application was reviewed, scored and ranked by three independent reviewers from outside Arkansas. The funds were awarded based on the judge’s score, rank and geographic considerations. 

A complete list of cities and counties that were awarded funding and the projects they will use the grants to complete is available here.

A full list of Recovery projects being administered through the Arkansas Energy Office can be found at http://www.arkansasenergy.org/.